Instructions for Comity Applicants to be Admitted to the Tennessee Bar

  1. Once you have your approval letter from the Board of Law Examiners (BLE), you must register with the Board of Professional Responsibility (BPR). Please wait until you have received a “welcome email” from the BPR before attempting to register on-line at www.tbpr.org. If you have not received the “welcome email” within a few days of receipt of your approval from the BLE, please call 615-361-7500. Be sure to check your "spam" folder before calling.
  2. You will be charged a $50.00 enrollment fee for admission by affidavit to the Tennessee Supreme Court, $150.00 for licensing and a fee assessed by the Board of Professional Responsibility that places you in the yearly billing cycle (not to exceed $170.00).
  3. Once you have completed the on-line registration and paid the fees, you will be issued a registration number (BPR#).You will then receive a Certificate of Eligibility from the BLE. You may use the Admission by Affidavit form to take the oath of office from a judicial official set forth in Supreme Court Rule 6. This form requires your BPR # and the original signatures and BPR #’s of two Tennessee attorney sponsors. You must have your Certificate of Eligibility and completed Affidavit with you when you appear to take the oath.