@ UNCLAIMED
Property

UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

JOHN GABRIEL, DIRECTOR

CHNECE
courtmentof | reasury




A program of the Tennessee Treasury Department
David H. Lillard, Jr., State Treasurer

@ UNCLAIMED
Property

Overview

» Consumer Protection

* Intangible Assets

* No Time Limit to Claim
* No Fees to Claim

« www.ClaimItTN.gov
«  www.ReportlItTN.gov

» Property Received:
FY2022 - $128.8 Million
FY2021 - $115.4 Million

* Claims Paid:
FY2022 - $57.6 Million
50,345 Claims
FY2021 - $60.0 Million
52,584 Claims
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http://www.claimittn.gov/
http://www.reportittn.gov/
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What is Unclaimed Property

» Definition-Intangible
personal property that has
gone unclaimed by the
rightful owner after a
specified period.
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Key Terms

* Property Type

* Dormancy Period

* Due Diligence

e ReportlItTN.gov

* Priority Rule: TX vs NJ
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Legal History and Implications
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Escheat

The old British
common law
practice where
land with no
owher was
turned over to
the lord or king
of the manor.

Hear)s, Hear)e,
be itdeclaved that
any land that dost
have no claimant,
shall he given to
the lowd of the
manor.
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  Hear Ye, Hear Ye, be it declared that any land that dost have no claimant, shall be given to the lord of the manor.       
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215t Century

States are custodial in
nature and not a true
escheat.
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Which state do | need to report to?

 Texas v New Jersey, US
Supreme Court, 379 US

I B 674 (1965).
Priority rule was
established and - Pennsylvania v New
upheld by these \éork,tUszS7ulerSe2nB%
ourt,
three supreme court (1972).

cases.
« Delaware v New York,

US Supreme Court, 507
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Priority Rule - Summary

» Concepts well established because of these three
Supreme Court Cases.

» Holder is obligated to report to all states and is not
confined to situations where the holder is authorized
to do business or where they transact business in a
state.

Incidental Property: 10 or fewer
properties valued at $1,000 or less
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Summary of the process

Determine your liability

Due Diligence

OV ERVIEW

Create your report

ReportltTN.gov
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Determine your liability

« Review your outstanding checks vV

 Checks that have been written off? j{

-

 Internal - Payroll
« External - Customer Refunds, Vendor Checks
« 3rd Party Agents
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Activity

* Property is not presumed abandoned if the apparent
owner indicates an interest in the property during the
dormancy period.

Under TCA 66-29-113 provide specific examples of what constitutes
activity or interest in the property.

Common question: What if | reissue the check?
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Due Diligence

« For all property $50 and greater

* No sooner than 180 days

* Must wait at least 60 days before reporting
« Must give owner 30 days to respond

* May send electronic mail, if no response must send
first-class letter
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Due Diligence

Must contains specific info: “Notice: The State of Tennessee requires us to
notify you that your property may be transferred to the custody of the
Treasurer if you don not contact us within thirty (30) days of this notice.”

1. State that the property will be turned over to the Treasurer;

2. State that, after the property is turned over to the Treasurer, an
apparent owner that seeks return of the property must file a claim with
the Treasurer;

3. Identify any owners of the property;

4. ldentify the nature and , except for property that does not have a fixed
value, the value of the property that is subject of the notice;

5. State that the property which is not legal tender of the United States
may be sold by the Treasurer; and

6. Provide instructions that the apparent owner must follow to prevent the
holder from reporting and paying or delivering the property to the

Treasurer.
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Create your report

* Must be an approved NAUPA file
« Software: Free or SSS
* Create your own file

« Contains list of property and who it belongs
too
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ReportltTN.gov

Upload your file here

Pav th h thi b bortal click here to go to the

« Pay throu is web porta

T " REPORT It TN
} ebit online reporting portal
— ACH Credit

Online instructions / tutorials

Just Say No to “Mail”
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Creating a User Account

(0
(D.

(

Report Unclaimed Property

Welcome to Report It TN, the Tennessee Unclaimed Property online reporting portal. We
have created this online portal to simplify, increase efficiency and improve the security of the
data you are reporting. We want to thank you for your support and cooperation in using this
tool, which has proven to be successful in reuniting owners with their missing property.

For additional information on Tennessee’s Unclaimed Property program you can click on the
link Unclaimed Property Home.

If you need assistance using this online reporting portal you can click on the link FAQs &
Tutorials for answers to the most common questions and step by step instructions on how to

‘ Register Now » b
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CDA

Compliance Disclosure Agreement
« Contract between

holder and state ()
\ >4

* Must not already be |
selected for audit m

* Must provide scope and
review technique

« 7 hard years vs 10

reporting years
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Claims: What happens after you report

State Efforts to Locate Missing Owners

- SSN match
with the - Letters to last
Division of known address
Workforce and
Labor - Match with
other databases
- Internet
- Advertising
- Fairs and
Festivals - Social Media
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LOCAL GOVERNMENT REFUND

Are you aware that there is a provision to allow the Unclaimed
Property Division to return what was reported back to the local
government?

* County must file a resolution by June 15t requesting the funds back

* Must wait 18 months before we can return the funds

* Any property not returned to the owner may be returned to the
local government minus an admin fee.

* The local government must still pay the owner if they come
forward the full amount.
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" Salo . e s
Resources

https://www.treasury.tn.gov
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www.ClaimltTN.gov

I Troausy @ "
Proparty, o~

click hereto go to the

REPORT It TN
online reporting portal
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Tennessee Department of Treasury
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https://www.treasury.tn.gov/
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Did you know that q

banging your S , ==
head up against ﬁ- ‘ H%AR HEKE = T
a brick wall mem A o
also burns Zaus

150 calories per hour?

som @cardE
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