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This presentation was originally scheduled to be
co-presented with a representative from CTAS.
In their absence, the AOC provided the following
legal information regarding Writ of Execution.
LGC specializes in software support and any
DlSCLAlM ER detailed questions regarding the legalities of
issuing Writ of Execution should be directed to
the AOC or CTAS.

TCA§26-1-103

“All judgments and decrees of any of the judicial
tribunals of this state for money may be enforced
by execution.”

Tennessee Jurisprudence(an Encyclopedia of
Tennessee Law) says:

“An execution issues, as a matter of course, upon
a judgment for a specific sum of money, without
any order awarding or directing its issuance in
express terms.”

Tennessee Jurisprudence, Executions § 3, vol. 12
(2021)




Court Clerks are asked to issue a writ of execution on a form that will
usually be in the nature of the following:

* GARNISHMENT (on wages)GARNISHMENT (on a bank account,
sometimes referred to as a “BANK LEVY”)

* LEVY (seizure for sale) on personal property

*TCA §29-7-101 & 26-2-202

All property under the control of the garnishee shall be liable to satisfy a
judgment against a judgment debtor.
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No clerk shall issue a WRIT OF EXECUTION, unless it provides the
following required notices:

* T.C.A. §26-2-404 Notice to Judgment Debtor
* T.C.A. §26-2-203 Notice to Garnishee

* T.C.A. §26-2-216 Notice to Judgment Debtor (and Notice to Garnishee)

The form, on the AOC’s website, consolidates the execution and
garnishment form along with these three required notices.
https://tncourts.gov/administration/judicial-resources/forms-
documents/court-forms

The Judgment creditor (or their attorney) should fill out as much of the execution form as
possible.

The clerk needs to ensure ALL court costs are reflected on the form. The clerk may want to
ensure that the balance due on the BILL OF COSTS, is included within the TOTAL amount
wanted from the execution, in addition to the clerk’s fee for issuance.

**Look for 3 things, before issuing/signing the execution form. [See TCA 26-1-203 & TRCP 62]:

* Final Judgment is, at least, 30 days old. {Clerk should count the 1st day the day after the
entry/filing date of the Judgment.}

* No MOTION(s) filed, i.e. Motion to Alter or Amend, Motion for New Trial, etc.

* No satisfaction of judgment filed.




How does the clerk endorse & issue the execution form?

TCAS 26-1-Part 301: Endorsement by Clerk

* “The clerk shall endorse on the execution, when issued, the date and amount of the judgment,
and the items of the bill of costs, written in words, and the amounts distinctly stated in figures, and
the date of issuance.”

TCAS 26-1-Part 302

« The clerk shall also enter upon the execution docket {now, computerized rule docket entry} the
date of the issuance of such execution, and to what county and officer issued; the return of the
officer, with the date of such return; the dates and amounts of all moneys received into or paid out
of the office thereon; the entries to be made at the time of the issuance, receipt, or payment, as
the case may be.

TCA § 26-1-303: Penalties for failure to endorse or docket.

clerk neglecting § 26-1-301or § 26-1-302 is liable to a penalty of one hundred twenty-five
dollars ($125), to be recovered by action, one-half (12) to the informer and the other one-half (72)
he ciamages at the suit of the party aggrieved, and commits a Class C misdemeanor,
or which, an conviction, such clerk shall be removed from office.”
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FEES:

$25 STANDARD POST-JUDGMENT CLERK FEE

[TCA 8-21-401(i)(1)]

“Unless otherwise provided, court clerks in criminal and
civil cases in all courts shall charge a standard post-
judgment fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). This fee shall
be charged per occurrence and shall be charged regardless
of whether judgment is enforced by garnishment,
execution, levy or other process. This fee shall also apply to
post-judgment interrogatories, publications, motions to set
installment payments, and orders and pleas.”
SHERIFFS & CONSTABLES

[TCA 8-21-901(a)(2) & (5)]

(A)For a levy of an execution on property or levy of an
attachment or other process to seize property for the
purpose of securing satisfaction of a judgment yet to be
rendered or for executing a writ of replevin or writ of
possession $50.00
(B)For collecting money to satisfy a judgment, whether by
execution, fieri facias, garnishment or other process, in civil
cases each time collection is attempted $40.00

(5)For data processing services ... ..$2.00

Execution forms expire in 30 days!

All executions issuing from the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Circuit, Chancery, Criminal and
special courts, as well as General Sessions, shall be returnable within thirty (30) days after the
date of their issuance. See TCA § 26-1-401.

Officer’s Return: “nulla bona”, AFFIDAVIT needed.

When an execution form has been returned “nulla bona” (no leviable asset found), an ALIA
be issue, But no ALIAS (2nd execution issued) or PLURIES (all executions issued after the
shall be issued, until the previous execution form is returned or satisfactorily accountec
AFFIDAVIT.

See TCA 26-1-108.

“No alias or pluries execution shall issue until the previous execution is returned, or satisfactarily
accounted for by affidavit.” -TCA 26-1-108




WARNING HOLD FUNDS for 20+ Days

Wait for the 21st day after receipt of execution funds.

TCA § 26-2-408 “No sheriff or other officer shall conduct an execution sale, and no clerk
shall pay out funds received pursuant to an execution or garnishment until the judgment
debtor's time has expired for filing a motion to quash, or until a judicial determination has
been made on such motion.”

Only the first payment is required to be held. This allows the debtor to file the motion to
quash, after that time expires monies can go out as receipted.

WAGE GARNISHMENTS: Effective for 6 months.

TCAS 26-2-214: “The lien shall continue as to subsequent earnings until the total amount
due upon the judgment and costs is paid or satisfied, or until the expiration of the payment
period immediately prior to six () calendar months after service of the execution,
whichever occurs first. ”
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WARNING:

TCA 8 26-1-207 “Any clerk, who fails or refuses to issue execution as prescribed
in this section, forfeits five hundred dollars ($500), to be recovered byactlon,
and is liable to the party aggrieved in damages, and commits a Clas:
mf}sdemeanor, for which, upon conviction, such clerk shall be removed from

o

$10,000 Personal Property Exemption*, plus other
exemptions

h defendant is entitled to file a personal property exemption up to $10,000,
lich néay include items of personalty, money & bank account funds. - TCAS

A

Other exemptions include necessary wearing apparel, family pictures, family
e, schoolbooks, State pensions, certain retirement plan funds, certain
= \cal/healthsavmgs certain insurance benefits, implements, profess\onal
oks, or tools of the trade($1,900 in value), VA benefits, Social Sec

nefits, unemplcgment compensation, Families First program beneflt or local
oublic assistance benefit, disability/illness /Junemployment benefit.
THERE ARE FORMS FORTHIS!!!
See TCAS 26-2-103, 104, 105, 110, 111.
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Debtor’s Forms on AOC’s Website

*Motion for Installment Payments: {Slow Pay and Supporting Affidavit of
Income and Property}

*Motion to Quash Garnishment/Execution and Claim Exemption Rights

Clerk’s Forms on AOC’s Website

*Execution Garnishment

*Release of Garnishment

*Stay of Garnishment or Attachment
*Stay of Income Assignment
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STAY (STOP) wage garnishment, without Court ORDER

TCA§ 26-2-218 Written agreements for SLOW PAY(in installments), signed by the parties
... and filed with the clerk, shall have the same force and effect as an ORDER made by
the Judge to stay the issuance, execution or return of any writ of garnishment against
wages...”

JUDGMENTS: alive for 10 years

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 69.04

Creditor can file a MOTION TO EXTEND JUDGMENT for another 10 years. Copy of the
motion shall be mailed [by the jJudgment creditor] to the last known address of the
judgmentdebtor.

If no response is filed by the judgment debtor within 30 days of the filed MOTION, the
MOTION shall be granted without further notice or hearing, and an ORDER extending the
judgment shall be entered by the court.

If a response is filed within 30 days of the filing date of the MOTION, the MOTION should
be set for hearing.
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Criminal & General Sessions Criminal Division
Garnishments for Court Costs

TCA § 40-24-105 Collection of fines, costs and litigation taxes —
Installment payment plan — Suspended license — Restricted license
— Conversion to civil judgment— Settlement.

(a)Unless discharged by payment or service of imprisonmentin default
of a fine, a fine may be collected in the same manner as a judgmentin
a civil action. The trial court may also enforce all orders assessing any
fine remaining in default by contempt upon a finding by the court that
the defendant has the present ability to pay the fine and willfully
refuses to pay. Costs and litigation taxes due may be collected in the
same manner as a judgmentin a civil action, but shall not be deemed
part of the penalty, and no person shall be imprisoned under this
section in default of payment of costs or litigation taxes. The following
shall be the allocation formula for moneys paid into court in matters
adjudicated on or after January 1, 2022: the first moneys paid in a case
shall first be credited toward the payment of restitution owed to the
victim, if any, and once restitution has been paid in full, the next
moneys shall be credited toward payment of litigation taxes, and once
litigation taxes have been paid, the next moneys shall be credited
toward payment of costs; then additional moneys shall be credited
toward payment of the fine

14

Challenges:

Employment:

Ultimately the defendant self-reports this information, and we cannot demand an answer from them.

Defendant Population:

Population demographics can offer unique challenges when performing any collections process. Garnishment
as a means of collecting past due court costs can be especially difficult if your population consists of a high
number of :

*College Students

*Retirees/Disability Recipients

*Seasonal Workers

*Tourism Based Workers

The Income Formula: ifa defendant already has a civil judgement, alimony, or child support, th
may not be enough disposable earnings left for your garnishment.

Unir ded Consequences: our form may be the employers first noti
that an employee is a felon or that they have a criminal history.
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Should you garnish?

*Do you have the office support to fill out,
submit, and track each form?

*Do you have a population that would allow for
garnishments to be effective?

*Do you have the information you need to
locate the current employer without having to
issue multiple forms?

*Do your judges agree with the time frame of
your garnishments?
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Adding a Wage Garnishment in TnCIS
When asked if you want to re-open the case
Select Filings from the Options Menu select NO
. Enter Filed By/For information and click on

Select the Filing from the dropdown to ellipses beside Wage Garnishment to enter
associate this Garnishment with additional information

- T
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Select Employer from dropdown or click If new Employer is being added, enter
hyperlink to add new Employer address and other necessary information
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Receipt payment for filing fee for the
Garnishment Add any additional Rule Docket Entries

20

Review information and click Finish to
complete adding the filing
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**IMPORTANT**

Check to make sure all fees/cost

have been added under the

correct party in TnCIS so that you

are ready to receipt when the first
paymentis received.
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Adding a Levy in TnCIS

When asked if you want to re-open the case
- " select NO
Select Filings from the Options Menu
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. Enter Filed By/For information and click on
Select the F|l|nLg from{ae dropdown to ellipses beside Levy to enter additional
evy wi

associate th information
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Add details about property being
levied

Receipt payment for filing fee for
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25
Review information and click Finish to
Add any additional Rule Docket Entries complete adding Filing
26
8 e— — — —
* REMINDER
Check to be sure that all
fees/cost are added to the case.
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Changing Due Date or Placing Disbursement on Hold

From menu in TnCIS
*Financials
*Disbursements
*Select disbursement

*Click on Disbursement tab at
top
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