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Local Rules of General Practice

Rule 1. ADOPTION OF RULES. These local rules are adopted by the Williamson County
Juvenile Court for practice before the Judge of the Juvenile Court and the Court’s

Magistrates.

Rule 2. SCOPE AND PURPOSE. These rules and the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice
and Procedure shall govern the practice and procedure in the Juvenile Court of
Williamson County, Tennessee. They are intended to provide for the speedy and just
determination of every proceeding, and in juvenile proceedings they shall at all times be
enforced and construed beneficially for the remedial purposes embraced in the
Tennessee Code Annotated. In the event of any conflict, the Tennessee Rules of

Juvenile Practice and Procedure shall prevail.

Rule 3. COURTROOM DECORUM. There will be no tobacco products, use of electronic

vapor products, chewing of gum, eating or drinking in the courtroom.

There will be no cellular devices, laptops, notebooks or any other technologically-based
communication/social networking device, allowed in the courtroom unless such devices
are silenced. Allowed electronic devices should be used for professional purposes and
shall not create a disruption to the activity of the courtroom. For the general public,

audience, and all juvenile defendants, the electronic devices must be turned off.

Lawyers, Court attendants, and all persons will be appropriately dressed while in Court

attendance.

The Court Officer or Court Security in attendance upon Court will be charged with the

responsibility of requiring compliance with these standards of courtroom conduct .




Rule 4. OFFICE HOURS. The Office of Williamson County Juvenile Services and the
Office of the Juvenile Court Clerk shall be open for the regular transaction of business
from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., except on non-judicial days. The Williamson County

Juvenile Detention Center will be open 24 hours per day and 7 days per week.

Rule 5. SESSIONS. Subject to such variations as the Judge may find necessary or
convenient, there will be a session of Court daily except non-judicial days. The regularly
scheduled Court dockets shall begin at 8:30 a.m. for Detention Hearings and 9:00 a.m.
and 1:00 p.m. for all other matters. Hearings may be scheduled outside of the regularly
scheduled docket times at the discretion of the Judge or'Magistrate presiding over the
matter. There will be a one-hour recess for lunch as directed by the presiding Judge or
Magistrate. Parties and attorneys will not be excused until released by the Court.
Attorneys are strongly urged to discuss their pending matters PRIOR to the beginning of
the Court session. Parties are expected to be prepared to proceed promptly at the
beginning of the morning and afternoon sessions. Law enforcement, attorneys,
defendants, etc., are to be in the courtroom and seated, at the opening of the session
for docket call. The Judge will get status reports of the cases pending at that time and
go over any preliminary matters. Attorneys or parties to proceedings shall notify the
Court or the clerk as soon as possible if there is an anticipated delay in their arrival. In
the event of a weather or environmental-based emergency, the Court will continue to
hold scheduled sessions. If parties are unable to commute to Court, they must notify
the Court of the inability to be present by contacting the Williamson County Juvenile
Court Clerk’s Office or Williamson County Juvenile Services. All efforts will be made to
conduct the hearing for the parties that appear. In the unlikely event that Court is
cancelled due to a weather or environmental-based emergency, notice of such will be
relayed to the local television/radio stations and available on Social Media to add to

public closure listings.




Computation of time under these local rules shall be the same as set forth in the

Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure.

Rule 6. COURT COSTS AND FILING FEES. Costs for filing a pleading, service of process,
and Court costs are to be established and assessed by the Juvenile Court Clerk. The
schedule of fees is available for inspection and copying upon request in the office of the

Juvenile Court Clerk. Filing fees or costs may be waived by the Court for good cause.

Rule 7. FORM OF PLEADINGS. All pleadings filed or presented to the Court shall be on
letter-sized (8 1/2” x 11”) paper. An original pleading shall be filed in all causes and shall
be accompanied by sufficient copies necessary for service upon the parties. Fax filing
shall be accepted according to Rule 5A of the Rules of Civil Procedure. In the event of
fax filing, an original is not to be filed at a later time as the fax filing will be stamped as
an original document. However, an original document must be maintained by the party
and produced if requested by the court. Electronic filing procedures are not in place

with the Williamson County Juvenile Court until further notice.

Rule 8. RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS. All proceedings shall be recorded by the Juvenile
Court Clerk. Audio/video recordings will be maintained by the Court for a period of one
(1) year. In the discretion of the Court, copies of audio recordings may be released to
attorneys of record or court reporters. Any such party who desires to obtain a copy of a
recording shall submit a written request to the Court, setting forth the reasons
supporting the party’s need to review the recording and identifying their role in the

case.




Rule 9. COURT ORDERS. Orders shall be prepared by the Clerk of the Court unless
otherwise directed by the Judge or Magistrate. When an order is prepared by counsel,
such order shall be submitted to opposing counsel and the Court for approval no later
than five (5) business days, excluding non-judicial days following the court date. If the
parties are unable to agree to the language in an order, the parties shall submit a
proposed order for consideration by the Court within fifteen (15) business days from the
court date. In all cases, orders shall be provided to all necessary parties and include a
certificate of service. Any decision from the court considered to be a final and
appealable order shall be clearly indicated on the document and include language

regarding the appeal process.

Rule 10. ATTORNEYS. All attorneys licensed to practice law in Tennessee shall be
allowed to appear in any matter coming before the Court. It is the responsibility of the
attorney representing the party to bring it to the Court’s attention as soon as practical
or by filing a Notice of Appearance. In accordance to Rule 104 of Tennessee Rules of
Juvenile Practice and Procedure, an attorney of record who wishes to terminate their

representation may do so only by permission of the Court.




Local Rules Regarding Delinquent & Status Matters

Rule 11. SERVICE OF PROCESS, SUBPOENAS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS.

Subpoenas. All subpoenas shall be typed or printed and served on the party, witness, or
officer. Forms are available at the Juvenile Court Clerk’s office. Subject to the
discretion of the court, the service shall occur as quickly as possible, but not later than
five (5) days, excluding non-judicial days, before the scheduled court date. If the matter
requires an emergency or expedited hearing, the five (5) day requirement may be
waived. Parties not represented by attorneys may contact the Youth Service Officer
assigned to the case regarding necessary subpoenas and shall provide the Court with
contact information, including name, address, and phone numbers. See Local Rule 17

(b).

Rule 12. CONFIDENTIAL RECORDS. All records submitted or filed with the Williamson
County Juvenile Court shall be confidential records (which includes, but is not limited to,
medical records or evaluations, mental health records or evaluations, substance abuse
assessment/treatment records, drug screen results, reports from the Tennessee
Department of Children’s Services or other agencies, CASA reports and probation
reports) and shall not be disclosed or re-released to anyone for any purpose other than
the proceedings currently before this Court without further authorization from the

Judge of the Williamson County Juvenile Court.




Rule 13. PRETRIAL MOTIONS. All filings and setting of all motions shall be done
consistent with Rule 105 of the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure.
Additionally, all pretrial motions filed by attorneys shall be in writing and must be filed
with the Court and served on opposing counsel or party by 4:30 p.m., five (5) days,
excluding non-judicial days, before the hearing in the matter. When a child is in
detention or an emergency hearing is necessary, this rule may be suspended to allow
quick preparation for court. In cases involving more than one party or involving

Guardians ad Litem, service shall be had on those persons in the same deadline.

Rule 14. DISCOVERY. In all delinquent proceedings, the attorney for the child, upon
request, shall be given access to inspect and/or copy, or be informed of all matters in
the possession or control of the state which would be discoverable in Criminal Court
under the Tennessee Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 16, and consistent with Rule 206
of the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure. To the extent possible,

discovery shall be done informally.

Rule 15. CONDUCT OF TRIALS. In the discretion of the Court, the general public may
be excluded from any juvenile proceeding and only those persons having a direct
interest in the case may be admitted. In juvenile proceedings a parent or guardian must
be present at every court appearance unless excused by the Court in writing or on the

record.

Rule 16. SCHEDULING OF HEARINGS AND CONTINUANCES.

Cases may be continued only by leave of the Court. Cases will not be continued except
for good cause. All cases continued by leave of the Court will be by written order stating
the reason for the continuance, at whose request, and the date of reassignment.

Agreed continuances shall be by order signed by counsel for all parties and shall specify




a new hearing date. Itisthe responsibility of the party requesting the continuance to
notify all other parties and witnesses under subpoena of the continuance and the reset

date. No case shall be “continued indefinitely”.

All dispositional hearings shall immediately occur after the adjudication of a
petition unless the Court deems otherwise. The Court may, upon proper motion or on

its own motion, set a later dispositional date.

Rule 17. DELINQUENT & UNRULY CASES.

(a) Detention Hearings: When conducting detention hearings pursuant to Rule 203,
Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice & Procedure and T.C.A. 37-1-114, the detention
hearings, unless otherwise scheduled, will be heard Monday through Friday and a

parent/custodian/guardian must be present.

(b) Following the filing of a petition, and if applicable, after the detention hearing, a first
appearance court date will be scheduled. Only the petitioner, juvenile, parents, and
attorneys will be required to attend. If the matter remains unresolved after the first
appearance court date, an adjudicatory hearing shall be scheduled. The District
Attorney and defense attorney will submit a list of witnesses, to include name(s),
address, and phone numbers to the Juvenile Court Clerk for the issuance and service
of subpoenas for that hearing. Pre-trial diversion can be considered for all first time

offenders, pursuant to Rule 202.

(c) All cases in which the State has announced its intention to transfer the case to
Criminal Court shall be conducted in accordance to Rule 208 of the Tennessee Rules
of Juvenile Practice & Procedure. However, if a child is detained beyond the
statutory time period, upon appropriate application to the Court by the attorney for

the child, the Court will entertain a Motion to Set Bond.

10




(d) Rules for the pre-trial and post-trial detention of delinquent offenders are governed
by T.C.A. 37-1-114 and the Williamson County Juvenile Detention Center
Administrative Manual. Those rules outlined in the manual regarding the rights of
the juvenile, his/her parents, guardian and representatives as to intervening,
visiting, questioning and other need for access to the child in detention have been

approved and adopted by the Court and are incorporated herein by reference.

Rule 18. REHEARING OF MATTERS HEARD BY THE MAGISTRATE. Any party requesting
a rehearing before the Juvenile Judge shall file a request to set within ten (10) days of
the entry of the final order by the Juvenile Magistrate, excluding non-judicial days. A
rehearing will not be allowed in any delinquency or unruly cases in which the Magistrate
recommends dismissal after hearing on the merits. The recommendation of the
Magistrate, in all matters before the Court, shall be the decree of the Court pending a
rehearing, unless a stay is issued by the Judge. The Judge may, on his/her own motion,

order a rehearing of any matter heard by a Magistrate.

Rule 19. APPEALS. Consistent with Rule 118 of the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice
and Procedure and Tenn. Code Ann. Section 37-1-159, an appeal from the Court’s
decision in a delinquency or unruly case may be perfected by filing, in Juvenile Court, a
notice of appeal within ten (10) days, excluding non-judicial days, of the entry of the
final order in the Juvenile Court. The notice of appeal shall also be filed in the Circuit
Criminal Court reflecting the appeal. An appeal shall not operate as a stay and the order
of this Court shall remain in effect until or unless this Court or the appeals court enters

an order to the contrary.

Local Rules Regarding Civil Matters

Rule 20. SERVICE OF PROCESS.
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Every petition, pleading, or other documents filed with the Court shall be
served on all parties and contain either a certificate of service or
summons pursuant to Rule 103 of the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile
Procedure.

A copy of the petition shall accompany the summons unless the
summons is served by publication in which case a general nature of the
allegations may suffice with instructions as to where to obtain a copy of
the petition may be provided in lieu of the entire petition.

If the petitioner or respondent is represented by an attorney, then that
attorney shall be responsible for preparation and service of summons
and for providing a certificate of service to the Juvenile Clerk.

All returned summons and return of service shall be filed with the

Juvenile Clerk.

Rule 21. CHILD SUPPORT MATTERS.

If the parties are not represented by counsel, process in Child Support matters shall be

the responsibility of the Child Support Enforcement Office in accordance with Tenn. R.

Juv. P. 103. Once the pleading is served, the original shall be submitted to the Juvenile

Court Clerk’s Office, which shall accept them for filing.

Rule 22. SUBPOENAS.

(a)

Every subpoena shall be issued by the Clerk in accordance with Rule

107(a) of the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Procedure.

(i) If the party is represented by an attorney, it is the responsibility of
the attorney to prepare and serve the subpoena. Forms may be
obtained from the Juvenile Court Clerk’s Office.

(ii) Parties not represented by counsel may contact the Youth
Services Officer assigned to the case regarding necessary

subpoenas. The party shall provide the Youth Services Officer
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with the name, address, and telephone number of the person

they wish to subpoena.

(b) Subpoenas shall be served in conformity with Rule 107 of the Tennessee

Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure.

(i) Once served, original documents shall be filed with the Juvenile
Court Clerk.
(ii) If the matter requires an emergency or expedited hearing, or a

preliminary hearing, the time limitations set forth for service of
subpoenas may be waived; however, subpoenas shall be served

as far in advance of the hearing as practicable.

Rule 23. MOTIONS. All motions are subject to the requirements of Rule 105, Rules of
Juvenile Practice and Procedure. If made prior to trial, they must be filed with the Court
and served pursuant to Rule 106 by 4:30 p.m. at least five (5) days before the hearing

date.

Rule 24. DISCOVERY. Discovery shall be subject to Rule 305, Rules of Juvenile Practice

and Procedure.

Rule 25. CONDUCT OF TRIALS.

(a) In the discretion of the Court, the general public may be excluded from any
juvenile or paternity proceeding and only those persons having direct
interest in the case may be admitted. In juvenile proceedings a parent or
guardian must be present at every adjudicatory hearing unless excused by

the Court in writing or on the record.

(b) Dependency and neglect proceedings shall not be open to the public. When a

child testifies, the examination shall be conducted either in chambers or in a




courtroom which has been cleared of observers or non-party witnesses. The

manner in which the Court shall take the child’s testimony shall be at the

discretion of the Court, considering all factors set forth in Rule 306, Rules of

Juvenile Practice and Procedure.

Rule 26. SCHEDULING OF HEARINGS AND CONTINUANCES.

(@)

Scheduling of adjudicatory and dispositional hearings in dependency and

neglect matters shall be done in conformity with Rule 307 and Rule 308

of the Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure.

The Juvenile Court Clerk’s Office will set all attorney-filed
pleadings. Service of process and issuance of subpoenas is the
responsibility of the attorney.

Upon the adjudication of a petition for dependency and neglect,
the Court shall immediately proceed to make either a temporary
or permanent disposition of the case. The Court may, upon
motion of a party or its own motion, set a later date for a
dispositional hearing, further disposition, or Judicial or

Administrative Reviews.

For good cause shown, cases may be continued by the Court, or by leave

of the Court based upon the agreement of the parties. Agreed upon

continuances shall be by order signed by counsel for all parties. No case

shall be continued indefinitely, and any order continuing a case shall

specify the date the case will be heard. It is the responsibility of the party

requesting the continuance to notify all other parties and witnesses

under subpoena of the continuance and the next hearing date.

Rule 27. GUARDIAN AD LITEM AND C.A.S.A. In addition to any requirement for

appointment of GAL in the Juvenile Rules of Practice and Procedure, the Court may,

either on its own motion or at the request of any party, appoint a Guardian ad Litem
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and/or CASA to act on behalf of a child in determining the best interest of the child in an

action pending before the Court.

Rule 28. PRELIMINARY HEARINGS IN DEPENDENCY-NEGLECT PROCEEDINGS.
Preliminary hearings shall be conducted in accordance with Rule 108 and Rule 302,

Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure.

Rule 29. INJUNCTIVE RELIEF. All requests for injunctive relief shall comply with Rule

108, Rules of Juvenile Practice and Procedure.

Rule 30. APPEALS. Appeals shall be taken subject to the provisions of Rule 118 of the
Tennessee Rules of Juvenile Procedure, Tenn. Code Ann. § 37-1-159, and other
applicable law.
(a) The right to appeal attaches upon the entry of a final order.
(b) An appeal shall not operate as a stay and the order of the court shall
remain in effect until or unless the appeals court enters an order to the

contrary.

Rule 31. MEDIATION AND PARENTING PLANS. Parties shall be made aware that
mediation services are available and may be ordered at the discretion of the Court in
contested cases. The Courtﬂ may also order that a Parenting Plan be submitted and
incorporated by reference into any final order. Unless otherwise ordered, the Court
recommends contested actions, either for initial orders or modification of existing
orders, involving the following issues to be referred to mediation prior to a trial on the
merits:

1. Custody of the minor children;

2. Co-parenting responsibilities and schedules.

Upon motion of any party or sua sponte, the court may order any other eligible

matter within the jurisdiction of the court, except delinquency, and dependency/neglect
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matters, to be referred to mediation prior to a trial on the merits. The parties may agree
on any person to be a mediator. If the parties cannot agree on a mediator, a motion
shall be made to the court to appoint a Rule 31 dispute resolution neutral mediator.
Nothing in this rule shall prevent the parties from proceeding with settlement
negotiations prior to mediation. If the parties cannot afford the fees of mediation, then

upon filing an affidavit with the court, mediation expenses may be supplemented by the

Rule 32. WAIVERS OR MODIFICATION OF RULES. Any of the rules herein enacted may
be waived or modified by special order of the Court when in the Court’s opinion such
waiver or modification is necessary in order to protect the child(ren)’s best interests, to
do justice, or to arrive at the equities of the case between or among the parties

involved.

These Local Rules of the Juvenile Court of Williamson County, Tennessee, are hereby

adopted and entered on the minutes of the Court on this,

The l %yof QW(“’% ,20/7.

V 7
///W W/VW

Sharon Guffee, Juvenile Court Judge
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