Termination of Parental Rights & Adoption

A Court Reference Guide for Tennessee Child and Parent Attorneys, Multidisciplinary Professionals and Court Staff

A quick-reference guide to Tennessee's legal procedures, timelines, and best practices for termination of parental rights and adoption.

TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS (TPR)

Jurisdiction and Filing

• Filed in Circuit, Chancery, or Juvenile Court. (T.C.A. §§ 36-1-113(a); 36-1-111(b); 37-1-104(c))

VOLUNTARY TERMINATION (SURRENDER)

- By Whom: Any birth parent or legal guardian, regardless of age. (T.C.A. § 36-1-110).
- Where: Courtroom, judge's chambers, or virtual video platform. (T.C.A. § 36-1-111(b), (j)(3)(C)).
- When: Pre-birth not filed until after birth with written reaffirmation within 3 days after birth; Post-birth no sooner than 48 hours after birth or upon hospital discharge. (T.C.A. § 36-1-111(d)).
- Revocation: May revoke within 3 calendar days, excluding weekends and holidays. (T.C.A. § 36-1-112(a)(1)). Exception applies for represented parents; revocation within 24 hours.

Voluntary Waiver of Interest for Putative Father

- A putative father may voluntarily waive any rights or interest in a child by executing a written waiver pursuant to T.C.A. § 36-1-111(s).
- Waiver relinquishes the father's right to notice of future proceedings, including TPR and adoption. It must be executed knowingly and voluntarily. Once accepted by the court, it is irrevocable.

Surrender Checklist

- ✓ Surrender Forms (T.C.A. § 36-1-111(b)(3))
- ✓ Mother's Affidavit (T.C.A. § 36-1-111)
- ✓ Affidavit Waiving Custody (T.C.A. § 36-1-111)
- ✓ Waiver of Interest (for putative fathers) (T.C.A. § 36-1-111(s)) and/or Denial of Paternity (for legal father) (T.C.A. § 36-1-111(t))
- ✓ Social and Medical History Forms
- ✓ Court Report/Home Study (if directly to adoptive parents)
- ✓ Motion/Order for Guardianship (if applicable)

For additional resources and information:
TBA Adoption Law Section @

https://www.tba.org/?pg=Adoption-Law-Section

INVOLUNTARY TERMINATION (TPR)

• By Whom: DCS, licensed agencies, GALs, certain relatives, or prospective adoptive parents (T.C.A. § 36-1-113(b)).

Grounds (T.C.A. § 36-1-113(g))

Grounds are cumulative and nonexclusive.

- 1) Abandonment: "non-willful" failure to visit or support (defined in T.C.A. § 36-1-102)
 - ≥4 yrs at time of filing = 4 month abandonment period
 - <4 yrs at time of filing = 3 month abandonment period
- 2) Substantial noncompliance with Perm Plan
- 3) Persistent conditions
- 4) Severe child abuse (defined in T.C.A. § 37-1-102)
- 5) Parental sentence >2 yrs for severe child abuse
- 6) Parental sentence >10 yrs + child <8 yrs at sentencing
- 7) Murder/wrongful death of parent
- 8) Mental incompetence
- 9) Grounds for putative fathers
- 10) Conception of child from particular sex crime
- 11) Prior conviction for severe child sexual abuse
- 12) Trafficking for commercial sex act conviction
- 13) Child sex trafficking conviction
- 14) Failure to manifest ability or willingness to assume custody or financial responsibility of child
- 15) Attempted first/second degree murder of parent
- 16) Father's unlawful sexual penetration against mother

Best Interest Factors (T.C.A. § 36-1-113(i))

- Court shall consider all relevant and child-centered factors including the 20 statutory factors.
- Key considerations include:
 - Effect termination will have on child's need for stability and continuity of placement;
 - Consistency in meeting the child's material, educational, emotional and financial support needs;
 - Impact of parent's conduct or living situation on child's trauma or well-being;
 - Secure and healthy attachment between child and parent;
 - Emotional ties and attachments between child and caregivers;
 - Parental efforts to establish safe home environment and performance of parenting responsibilities;
 - Parental efforts to maintain contact with the child:
 - History of abuse, neglect, or criminal activity by parent;
 - Willingness and ability to assume responsibility for child;
 - Success (or failure) in parenting other children;
 - DCS's reasonable efforts to assist parent in making lasting adjustments.
- Clear and convincing evidence is required.
- The prompt and permanent placement of the child in a safe environment is presumed to be in the child's best interest. (T.C.A. § 36-1-113(j))

ADOPTION

Jurisdiction and Filing

- Filed in Chancery or Circuit Court (T.C.A. § 36-1-115)
- Filing Considerations:
 - With or without TPR
 - Married or Single
 - Residency
 - Petition Requirements (T.C.A. § 36-1-116)
 - Putative Father Response (T.C.A. § 36-1-116(b)(13)(A))
- Timeframe Finalization of adoption is required within 1 year of filing. (T.C.A. § 36-1-116)
- Juvenile Court jurisdiction continues only until Adoption Petition is filed; however, Juvenile Court retains jurisdiction for reviews/foster care permanency hearings. (T.C.A. § 36-1-116(f)). Only the adoption court has jurisdiction to modify visitation or custody of the child while adoption is pending.

<u>Adoption Hearings & Finalization</u> Requirements

Adoption finalization requires several legal and procedural steps:

- Hearing may occur in open court or chambers
- Adoptive parents typically testify to establish relationship and intent
- Social worker testimony may be required to confirm child's adjustment
- Final Decree of Adoption establishes legal parent-child relationship
- Consent forms for minors aged 14+ (T.C.A. §§ 36-1-102(16), 36-1-117(i))

Adoption Checklist

- ✓ Petition for Adoption
- ✓ Supporting Documents: Birth/Death/Marriage Certificates
- ✓ Order of Reference
- ✓ Putative Father Clearance
- ✓ Attorney Affidavit/Declaration disclosing fees and expenses
- ✓ Agency Affidavit disclosing fees and expenses
- ✓ Order of Guardianship (Agency only)
- ✓ Final Decree/Order of Adoption with specific language (T.C.A. § 36-1-120)
- ✓ Copy of certified Final Order
- ✓ Application for Certificate of Birth
- ✓ Fees to Division of Vital Records of TN Department of Health in Nashville

Required Documents in Agency and Private Adoptions

- Order of Reference
- Home Study & Final Court Report

Types of Adoption

- Agency
- Private
- Relative
- Step-parent home study, Order of Reference, final court report and final Order of Adoption may be waived (T.C.A. § 36-1-119(b))
- Re-adoption (T.C.A. § 36-1-106) distinction on procedures depending on child's citizenship status
- Recognition of Foreign Decrees
- Adult Adoption

Foster Parent Adoption Considerations

Timelines:

- 6 months for significant relationship (T.C.A. § 37-2-403 (b)(4))
- 9 months not just notice but may be kind of party status (T.C.A. § 37-2-415(a)(17))
- 12 months preference if child is available for adoption (T.C.A. § 36-1-115(g)(1))
- Have right to engage an attorney for the purposes of consultation and advice

Access to Records

- Adoption records are confidential. (T.C.A. § 36-1-125)
- Adults adopted after 1951 may request records unless birth parent was a rape/incest victim. (T.C.A. § 36-1-127) (effective 7/1/2025)
- Court-ordered release under strict conditions. (T.C.A. § 36-1-138)

Post-Adoption Considerations

- Post-Adoption Contact Agreements (PACA): Enforceable until child turns 18 (T.C.A. § 36-1-145)
- New Birth Certificates issued within 45 days (T.C.A. § 68-3-312(g))
- Statute of Repose: 9 months (T.C.A. § 36-1-122)

Financial & Leave Benefits

- Tax Credit: Up to \$16,810 in qualified expenses (IRS Adoption Credit)
- Paid Leave: 6 weeks for eligible State of Tennessee employees post-adoption (effective 4/11/2025)

Adoption Alternatives

Permanent Guardianship (PG) & Subsidized Permanent Guardianship (SPG):

- No TPR required
- SPG requires kinship and is subsidy-eligible
- PG does not require prior relationship but is not subsidy-eligible

Additional Resources	
TN Children's Services Adoption Fee	https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/dcs/documents/licensing/TN_Adoption_Fee_Schedule.pdf
Application for Certificate of Birth	https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/vital-records/applications.html
DCS Adoption Best Practices Manual	https://files.dcs.tn.gov/policies/chap15/AdoptionManual.pdf
DCS Adoption Program Area	https://www.tn.gov/dcs/program-areas/adoption.html