Chancellor Bryant of Athens Takes Helm of Tennessee Judicial Conference

June 20, 2013

Chancellor Jerri S. Bryant, of the 10th Judicial District, was sworn in Friday by Chief Justice Gary Wade as president of the Tennessee Judicial Conference. Bryant, of Athens, has been a judge since 1998.

The change in the conference’s leadership, including installation of new officers, took place at the annual meeting of the state’s trial court and appellate court judges in Nashville.

“I am excited to serve the judges of this state.  The Tennessee Judicial Conference was created in 1953 to provide judges with opportunities through education and other activities that allow us to utilize the combined and vast experience of judges across the state to improve the level of service to the citizens of the State of Tennessee,” Bryant said.

Bryant succeeds Circuit Court Judge Robert L. Holloway, Jr., of Columbia, who has served as TJC president since last June.

Chancellor Bryant, who also will serve a one-year term as president, is a graduate of Tennessee Wesleyan College and received her juris doctorate from University of Tennessee. Her profile is available here.

The Tennessee Judicial Conference is an organization of members of the Tennessee Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and Court of Criminal Appeals as well as trial court judges from across state. The mission of the TJC is to enhance the professional and personal development of all Tennessee judges, encourage proactive efforts to preserve and improve our system of justice, implement effective alternative dispute resolution methods and develop visionary judicial leadership in order to provide the highest quality of services from the state judiciary. 

The entire slate of officers can be seen here. (document edited January 2014 to reflect appointment of Bill Young as adminsitrative director of AOC)

TJC President Chancellor Jerri S. Bryant and Chief Justice Gary R. Wade