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This Protected Income and Assets form is: New/First time filed  Changed/Modified  
 
You may use this form to tell the court about any income, property, or benefits that are protected 
from sale or seizure (garnishment) under state or federal law.  You should file this form for each 
judgment you have against you.   
 

You may have to pay a filing fee.  Can’t afford the fee?  Ask the court clerk for a paper 
called a Request to Postpone Filing Fees and Order (Uniform Civil Affidavit of Indigency). 

Or go on the internet to www.tncourts.gov or www.justiceforalltn.com to get the form. 
 
Fill out the form.  Make a copy for each judgment against you before you write in the file number 
and before signing the form.  Sign each copy.  You can update this form if you need to protect 
new property.  You must file an update for all unpaid judgments against you. 

 
IMPORTANT! You can protect up to $10,000.00 worth of personal property (lines 1-6), 

and only up to $750.00 for line 7. 
 
Some things are automatically protected.  You do not have to list them below, such as: your 
family’s clothing and suitcases or trunks where the clothing is stored, family portraits and 
photographs, the family bible and schoolbooks.  

 

 I am the Defendant/Debtor in the court case listed above. I live in Tennessee and I claim 
that the following items are protected from garnishment. (TCA §§ 26-2-102 and 26-2-114).  This 
personal property exemption right is in addition to certain items that are automatically exempt by 
law and do not need to be included in my $10,000 total, including funds on deposit in checking 
and/or savings accounts at:  
 
_____________________________________   
Name of Bank        
 
consisting solely of Social Security, SSI, Unemployment, Workers Comp, AFDC/Families First, 
Veteran’s benefits, alimony or child support, and/or state, federal or city pension. 
 

Item Describe Value 
1. Car, truck, or other vehicle  $ 

   

   

State of Tennessee 
Court (Must Be Completed) County (Must Be Completed) 

Protected Income and Assets 
(Affidavit of Claim Exemptions) 

 

File No. __________________  
                      (Must Be Completed) 
 
Division __________________ 

                         (Large Counties Only) 

 
Plaintiff/Creditor _________________________________________________________ 

(Name: First, Middle, Last of person/company that filed lawsuit) 
 
Defendant/Debtor ________________________________________________________ 

(Name: First, Middle, Last of the other person) 

http://www.tncourts.gov/�
http://www.justiceforalltn.com/�
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2. Furniture/Electronics  $ 

   

   

   

   

3. Household goods  $ 

   

   

   

   

   

4. Bank Accounts Bank Name Balance 

   

   

5. Other  $ 

  $ 

  $ 

6. Cash $ 

7. Tools of the Trade (Things 
I need to earn a living) 

 $ 

 

 Read below then sign: 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Tennessee that:  
• The information on this form is true to the best of my knowledge.  
• The information I provided is a correct and complete list of all of my income and assets 

to be protected. 
Defendant/Debtor  
Signs here:    Date: ___________________ 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this ____________ day of ________________________, 
20________. 
_____________________________________________ 
Deputy Clerk or Notary Public 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

Bring the original and 2 copies of this form to the Court Clerk to be date stamped.   
Give the original to the Court Clerk.   

Bring a stamped envelope addressed for each plaintiff to the Court Clerk.  Mail one copy to 
the lawyer or if there is no lawyer, mail it to the plaintiff or company that sued you.  Keep one 

copy for yourself. 
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Certificate of Service 

(How I gave this paper to the Plaintiff/Creditor) 
 

I certify that I (check one box) 
 ☐  hand delivered or 

☐  mailed by first-class mail, properly addressed, a true and correct copy of this paper to the 
person listed below at the address below:  

 
 
                             _______________________ 
Name of Who You Are Giving This To (The creditor’s lawyer or the creditor if no lawyer) 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
Address of the Lawyer or the Creditor (Include City, State and Zip Code) 
 
on ___________________________________. __________________________________ 
       (Date you mailed/hand-delivered the copy)    Sign Your Name      
    

IMPORTANT! 
The court and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice, even if you don’t have a 

lawyer. This form is a public record.  It is not legal advice.  The law may change and it is 
best to consult with a lawyer if possible. 
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You must go to Court on (Court Date):  _______________________ at_______ G a.m.   G p.m. 
 
Courtroom:  ________________________________________________________________ 
 (Court, Address, Zip) 

Reset Date:  _______________________________      Time: ___________________   G a.m.   G p.m. 
 
Review Date:  __________________________ Time: _________________   G a.m.   G p.m. 
 
To ask the court to allow you to make payments on this case, you must: 

• Send a copy of your completed form to the Plaintiff/Creditor or his/her lawyer, and  
• Go to a court on the date listed above that the clerk’s office gave you.   
• Do not agree to pay more than you can afford.  At this time, the law allows you to keep at least 

$217.50 of your weekly paycheck.  If your weekly pay is more than $217.50, the amount that can be 
taken (garnished) is the difference between your net weekly pay and $217.50 or 25% of your net 
wage, whichever is greater. 

 
You may have to pay a filing fee.  Can’t afford the fee?  Ask the court clerk for a paper called a 
Request to Postpone Filing Fees and Order (Uniform Civil Affidavit of Indigency). Or go on the 

internet to www.tncourts.gov or www.justiceforalltn.com to get the form. 
 

 I ask the court to allow me to make payments of (amount):  $  beginning 
___________________ (date) toward this judgment, pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated 26-2-216. 

 
 This amount will be paid (check one):   Weekly        Bi-weekly       Monthly  

 Your Information 
Full Name:   

 
Address:   
 street address city state zip 
Tel. (home):   (work):   (cell):   
Birth date (mm/dd/yy):   

    Dependents 
List your dependents below.   

Name Age Relationship Name Age Relationship 

State of Tennessee 
Court (Must Be Completed) County (Must Be Completed) 

Request to Make Payments 
(Motion and Affidavit for Installment Payments  

and Order) 

 

File No. __________________  
                      (Must Be Completed) 
 
Division __________________ 

                         (Large Counties Only) 
 

 
Plaintiff/Creditor ________________________________________________________ 

(Name: First, Middle, Last of person/company that filed lawsuit) 
 
 Defendant/Debtor _______________________________________________________ 

   (Name: First, Middle, Last of the other person) 
 

http://www.tncourts.gov/�
http://www.justiceforalltn.com/�
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1.   4.   

2.   5.   

3.   6.   

 Employment:  If you are working now, fill out below.  If not working now, check here:     

Employer’s name:   
 
Employer’s address and tel. #: 
  

 street address city state zip tel # 

How much do you earn after taxes are deducted?   
 
$   each (check one):  week    month   Other:   

 Other Income:  List any other income that you get now or expect to get. 

Source of Income How much do you get? Source of Income How much do you get? 

  AFDC 
$   / month 

  Unemployment 
$   / month 

  Social Security 
$   / month 

  Worker’s Comp. 
$   / month 

  Retirement 
$   / month 

  Other* 
$   / month 

  Disability 
$   / month 

  SSI 
$   / month 

* Explain source of Other income here. 
Other: 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
Assets:  List all assets that you own separately, with your spouse or with someone else: 

 Fair Market 
Value 

 Money still 
owed  

= 

1.  Car, truck, or other vehicle    $   
2.  Other car, truck, or other vehicle   $   
3.  House, condominium, land    $   
4.  Other house, condominium, land    $   
List all bank/financial accounts below: 
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Bank name  Balance 

5.  $   
6. $   
7. Cash  $   

Total: $   
 

Other:               

              

               

 Expenses 

 
How much each 
month?  

How much each 
month? 

  Rent/House Payment $      Gas  $    
  Phone $      Child Care  $    
  Groceries 

$    
  Court-ordered Child   
       Support $    

  School Supplies $      Transportation $    
  Electricity  $      Medical/Dental $    
  Clothing $      Other $    
  Water $      Other $    

 

 Debts: 

Who do you owe? 
How much do you 

owe? Who do you owe? 
How much do you 

owe? 
1. $    4. $    

2. $    5. $    

3. $    6. $    

 List any other facts you want the court to know, such as unusual medical expenses, family 
emergencies, etc.  
         
         
          

  I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Tennessee that:  
• The information I have provided is true, correct, and complete.  

 
 Sign here:   Date:   

  
 Sworn and subscribed before me this _______ day of _____________________, 20________. 
 
 ______________________________________ 
 Deputy Clerk or Notary Public 
 
 

Bring the original and 2 copies of this form to the Court Clerk to be date stamped.   
Give the original to the Court Clerk.   

Bring a stamped envelope addressed for each plaintiff to the Court Clerk.  Mail one copy to the lawyer 
or if there is no lawyer, mail it to the plaintiff or company that sued you.  Keep one copy for yourself. 
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A review of this decision is set for (Date) _________________________ at (Time) ____________ □ a.m. 
                      □ p.m. 
(Location)____________________________________________________________________ 
 

Certificate of Service: 
(How I gave this paper to the Plaintiff/Creditor) 

 
I certify that I (check one box) 
 

 ☐ hand delivered or 

 ☐ mailed by first-class mail, properly addressed, a true and correct copy of this paper to the person 
listed below at the address below:  

                              
         
Name of Who You Are Giving This To (The creditor’s lawyer or the plaintiff/creditor if no lawyer) 

 
         
Address of the Lawyer or the Creditor (Include City, State and Zip Code) 

 
on ___________________________________. 
       (Date you mailed/hand-delivered the copy)         

______________________________________ 
     Sign Your Name   

IMPORTANT! 

Take any proof that supports your case to the hearing, including: witnesses, photos, papers, receipts, 
etc.  The court will not accept written statements from witnesses.  The person must go to court in 

person.  If you think a witness may not want to go to court, ask the clerk for subpoena forms.  
Complete the subpoena as soon as possible so the sheriff can serve them before court.  

 
The court and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice, even if you don’t have a lawyer. This 
form is a public record.  It is not legal advice.  The law may change and it is best to consult with a 

lawyer if possible. 
 

DO NOT FILL OUT THIS SECTION BELOW.  THE JUDGE WILL FILL THIS SECTION OUT AT COURT. 

 The court denies this Request because (judge will check all that apply): 
 The defendant did not prove s/he has the right to make payments.  
 The defendant did not go to the court hearing for this case. This 

Request is dismissed.  
 The defendant must pay court costs of: $   

 
 The court approves this Request because the defendant proved s/he has the right to make 

payments.  Garnishment will end, and the defendant will pay as follows: 
 Payments of: $ , on the   day of each (month, week, other):    
      starting (date):  until (date of final payment):  ,  
 Payments will be made to (check one):   Plaintiff or his/her lawyer    Court Clerk 

 This decision was made by (check one):   The Plaintiff did not show up to court (Default) 
 After a court hearing. 
 By agreement of the parties. 
 

      
  
 
 
 
 
Judge’s signature:              Date:     
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If you do not have enough money to pay for the court costs to start your appeal, you may fill out this form. 

   
You may have to pay court costs at the end of the case. 

 
I, _____________________________________________________________________, do solemnly swear 
that I am a resident of the State of Tennessee, and that owing to my poverty, I am not able to bear the 
expense of an appeal from the judgment of the Court in the above styled case and that I am justly entitled to 
the relief sought to the best of my belief.   
 

Read below then sign: 
 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Tennessee that:  
 

• I swear that I do not have enough money or assets to pay the court costs for my appeal before the 
court date.   

• I ask the court to allow me to appeal without paying the fees at this time. 
• The information on this form is true to the best of my knowledge.  

 
Party Appealing :   Date:   

Sworn and subscribed before me, this __________ day of _______________________, 20____. 

Deputy Clerk: __________________________________________________________________ 
 

Notice:  Loss of appeal results in obligation to pay court costs. 

____________________________________________ _______________________________________ 
Lawyer for Plaintiff       Lawyer for Defendant 

____________________________________________ ________________________________________ 
Lawyer’s Address       Lawyer’s Address 

____________________________________________ ________________________________________ 
City, State, Zip       City, State, Zip 

____________________________________________ ________________________________________ 
Plaintiff(s)        Defendant(s) 

____________________________________________ ________________________________________ 
Home Address and Telephone     Home Address and Telephone 

____________________________________________ ________________________________________ 
City, State, Zip       City, State, Zip 

____________________________________________ ________________________________________ 
Place of Employment and Telephone      Place of Employment and Telephone 
 

 

State of Tennessee 
Court (Must Be Completed) County (Must Be Completed) 

Request Not to  
Pay Fees for Appeal 

(Pauper’s Oath in Lieu of Appeal Bond) 
 

 

File No. __________________  
                      (Must Be Completed) 
 
Division __________________ 

                         (Large Counties Only) 
 

 
Plaintiff ______________________________________________________________________________ 
                   (Name: First, Middle, Last of person/company that filed lawsuit) 
 
Defendant ____________________________________________________________________________ 
                      (Name: First, Middle, Last of the other person) 
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IMPORTANT! 

Take any proof that supports your case to the hearing, including: witnesses, photos, papers, 
receipts, etc.  The court will not accept written statements from witnesses.  The person must 

go to court in person.  If you think a witness may not want to go to court, ask the clerk for 
subpoena forms.  Complete the subpoena as soon as possible so the sheriff can serve them 

before court. 
The court and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice,  
even if you don’t have a lawyer. This form is a public record.   

It is not legal advice.  The law may change and it is best to consult with a lawyer.   
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If you cannot afford to pay the filing fees or costs at this time,  

fill out this form.  And file it with your completed case documents. 
Even if the judge approves this form, you may have to pay court costs at the end of the case.   

 Your Information 
Full Name:   

 
Address:   
 street address city state zip 
Tel. (home):   (work):   (cell):   
Birth date (mm/dd/yy):   

 Dependents 
List your dependents below.   
 

Name Age Relationship Name Age Relationship 

1.   4.   

2.   5.   

3.   6.   

 Employment:  If you are working now, fill out below.  If not working now, check here:     

Employer’s name:   
 
Employer’s address and tel. #: 
  

 street address city state zip tel # 

How much do you earn after taxes are deducted?   
 
$   each (check one):  week    month   Other:   

State of Tennessee 
Court (Must Be Completed) County (Must Be Completed) 

Request to Postpone  
Filing Fees and Order 

(Uniform Civil Affidavit of Indigency) 
 

 

File No. __________________  
                      (Must Be Completed) 
 
Division __________________ 

                         (Large Counties Only) 
 

 
Plaintiff  _________________________________________________________________ 
                       (Name: First, Middle, Last of person/company that filed lawsuit) 
 
Defendant _______________________________________________________________ 
                            (Name: First, Middle, Last of the other person)  
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 Other Income:  List any other income that you get now or expect to get. 

Source of Income How much do you get? Source of Income How much do you get? 

  AFDC 
$   / month 

  Unemployment 
$   / month 

  Social Security 
$   / month 

  Worker’s Comp. 
$   / month 

  Retirement 
$   / month 

  Other* 
$   / month 

  Disability 
$   / month 

  SSI 
$   / month 

* Explain source of Other income here. 
Other: _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
 
 Assets:  List all assets that you own separately, with your spouse or with someone else: 

 Fair Market 
Value 

– Money still 
owed  

= 

1.  Car, truck, or other vehicle    $   
2.  Other car, truck, or other vehicle   $   
3.  House, condominium, land    $   
4.  Other house, condominium, land    $   
List all bank/financial accounts below: 
Bank name  Balance 

5.  $   
6. $   
7. Cash  $   

Total: $   
 

Other:               

              

               

 
  Expenses: 

 
How much each 
month?  

How much each 
month? 

  Rent/House Payment $      Gas  $    
  Phone $      Child Care  $    
  Groceries 

$    
  Court-ordered Child   
       Support $    

  School Supplies $      Transportation $    
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  Electricity  $      Medical/Dental $    
  Clothing $      Other $    
  Water $      Other $    

 
 Debts: 

Who do you owe? 
How much do you 

owe? Who do you owe? 
How much do you 

owe? 
1. $    4. $    

2. $    5. $    

3. $    6. $    

 
  I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Tennessee that:  

• The information I have provided is true, correct, and complete.  
• I cannot afford to pay the filing fees at this time.   

 
Sign here:   Date:   

 
 Sworn and subscribed before me this _________ day of ______________________, 20_________. 
  
 ________________________________________     _____________________________________ 
 Notary Public or Deputy Clerk                                      My Term Expires 

 
IMPORTANT! 

Take any proof that supports your case to the hearing, including: witnesses, photos, papers, receipts, 
etc.  The court will not accept written statements from witnesses.  The person must go to court in 

person.  If you think a witness may not want to go to court, ask the clerk for subpoena forms.  
Complete the subpoena as soon as possible so the sheriff can serve them before court.  

The court and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice, even if you don’t have a lawyer. This 
form is a public record.  It is not legal advice.  The law may change and it is best to consult with a 

lawyer if possible. 
 

DO NOT FILL OUT THIS SECTION BELOW.  THE JUDGE WILL FILL THIS SECTION OUT AT COURT. 

 The court denies this Request because (judge will check all that apply): 
 The applicant did not prove s/he cannot afford to pay costs associated with 

this case at this time.  
 The applicant did not go to the court hearing for this case. This Request is 

dismissed.  
 The applicant must pay court costs of: $   
 

 The court approves this Request and the applicant may file without paying the filing fees or costs 
at this time. 

 
 Judge’s signature:         Date: ____________________. 

 

NOTICE: 

 If the judge determines that you are not eligible to postpone filing fees, you have the right to a hearing 
before the judge.  Or in cases that can be appealed to circuit court, a hearing before the circuit court judge. 

 



 

 Request to Protect Income and Assets page 1  
 

 
 

 
 
 

 

 

Certain kinds of income and property are protected from garnishment, even if there is a court order. 
You may use this form to ask the court for a hearing and orders to protect or return the items checked 
below (TCA §§26-2-101 – 26-2-410).  You should bring documents to show why this money should be 
protected.   

You may have to pay a filing fee.  Can’t afford the fee?  Ask the court clerk for a paper 
called a Request to Postpone Filing Fees and Order (Uniform Civil Affidavit of Indigency). 

Or go on the internet to www.tncourts.gov or www.justiceforalltn.com to get the form. 
 
 I am the Defendant/Debtor in the Court case listed above, and I ask the court to protect my exempt 

income, benefits, and property checked below wherever located. (Check all that apply): 

 Social Security  
 SSI (Supplemental Security Income)  
 Unemployment  
 TANF  
 Veterans Benefits 
 Student Loans and Grants  

 

 Government Pension*  
 Health Care Aids*,  
 Insurance Benefits*  
 Tools of Trade* (things you need to earn a living)  

* These are usually exempt.  

 Check here if your employer has already garnished the maximum amount allowed. (At this time, 
the law allows you to keep at least $217.50 of your weekly paycheck.  If your weekly pay is more 
than $217.50, the amount that can be taken (garnished) is the difference between your net 
weekly pay and $217.50 or 25% of your net wage, whichever is greater.)  

 Other (see TCA 26-2-111 (specify):   

 If any item checked above has already been taken or garnished, list the bank or agency that 
that took it or garnished it:   

 I will prove that the items checked above are protected by federal or state law at a court hearing. 

Defendant/Debtor or Attorney for Defendant/Debtor signs here:         

Date:   

State of Tennessee 
Court (Must Be Completed) County (Must Be Completed) 

Request to Protect  
Income and Assets 

(Motion to Quash Garnishment/ 
Execution and Claim Exemption Rights) 

 

 

File No. __________________  
                      (Must Be Completed) 
 
Division __________________ 

                         (Large Counties Only) 
 

 
Plaintiff/Creditor ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                            (Name: First, Middle, Last of person/company that filed lawsuit) 
 
Defendant/Debtor   __________________________________________________________ 
                                 (Name: First, Middle, Last of the other person)  

Name and address of your Employer, if you have a job:   
                                                                            Employer’s name  

  
 Street address  City State  Zip 
 

http://www.tncourts.gov/�
http://www.justiceforalltn.com/�
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 Date and time of the Hearing. (The court clerk will tell you this information).   
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Certificate of Service 
(How I gave this paper to the Plaintiff/Creditor) 

 
I certify that I (check one box) 
 ☐  hand delivered or 

 ☐  mailed by first-class mail, properly addressed, a true and correct copy of this paper to the 
person listed below at the address below:  
 
 
                                  
Name of Who You Are Giving This To (The creditor’s lawyer or the creditor if no lawyer) 

 
______________________________________________________________        
Address of the Lawyer or the Creditor (Include City, State and Zip Code) 

 
on ___________________________________. 
       (Date you mailed/hand-delivered the copy)         

 
______________________________________

    Sign Your Name   
IMPORTANT! 

Take any proof that supports your case to the hearing, including: witnesses, photos, papers, 
receipts, etc.  The court will not accept written statements from witnesses.  The person must 

go to court in person.  If you think a witness may not want to go to court, ask the clerk for 
subpoena forms.  Complete the subpoena as soon as possible so the sheriff can serve them 

before court.
 

The court and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice, even if you don’t have a 
lawyer.  This form is a public record.  It is not legal advice.  The law may change and it is 

best to consult with a lawyer if possible. 
 

 

Bring the original and 2 copies of this form to the Court Clerk to be date stamped.   
Give the original to the Court Clerk.   

Bring a stamped envelope addressed for each plaintiff to the Court Clerk.  Mail one copy to 
the lawyer or if there is no lawyer, mail it to the plaintiff or company that sued you.  Keep one 

copy for yourself. 
 

This case is set for hearing at the court above on __________________, 20______ at _______ 
        (month/date)    (year)         (time) 
located at: ____________________________________________________,  Room #_____________. 

(street)    (city, state, zip) 
 
_______________________________________ 
Clerk or Deputy Clerk 
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DO NOT FILL OUT THIS SECTION BELOW.  THE JUDGE WILL FILL THIS SECTION OUT AT COURT. 

 The court denies this Request because (judge will check all that apply): 
 The defendant did not prove that the income and assets listed should be 

protected. 
 The defendant did not go to the court hearing for this case, and must pay 

the judgment as previously ordered. This Request is dismissed.  
 

 The court approves this Request because the defendant proved that the income and assets 
listed should be protected:  

 

 This decision was made by (check one):   The Plaintiff/Creditor did not come to court        
      (Default). 

 The judge at the court hearing   
 Agreement of both sides 

Judge’s signature:    Date:  

 



 

      Sworn Denial      Page 1 of 2 
 

 
 

 
You can use this form if you disagree with any of the Plaintiff's claims. 

You should file the original with the court listed above by the court date. 
 

You may have to pay a filing fee.  Can’t afford the fee?  Ask the court clerk for a paper 
called a Request to Postpone Filing Fees and Order (Uniform Civil Affidavit of Indigency). 

Or go on the internet to www.tncourts.gov or www.justiceforalltn.com to get the form. 
 
Important! If you do not file this form, you can tell the judge that you disagree.  But it is generally 
better to file the form to protect your rights.   
 

I swear the following: 
 I am the Defendant /Debtor in the case listed above. 
 I believe I do not owe what the Plaintiff/Creditor is asking for, as described in the 

Complaint.   
 I understand that by making this statement, there may be a trial. Defendant submits this 

Sworn Denial as allowed by T.C.A. § 24-5-107 and demands strict proof thereof.  
 Please briefly list some of your reasons for your denial.  You can raise additional defenses 

at the hearing.             

             

             

            _____ 
 
Read below then sign: 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Tennessee that:  
• The information on this form is true to the best of my knowledge.  

Defendant:   Date: __________________________________ 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this the _______ day of ___________________, 20_______. 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
Name 

 
Notary Public/Deputy Clerk in and for ________________________________County, Tennessee. 
 
My Commission expires on _______________________________________________________.  

 
 

State of Tennessee 
Court (Must Be Completed) County (Must Be Completed) 

Sworn Denial 
(Sworn Denial on Account) 

 

 

File No. __________________  
                      (Must Be Completed) 
 
Division __________________ 

                         (Large Counties Only) 
 

Plaintiff/Creditor ________________________________________________________ 
                              (Name: First, Middle, Last of person/company that filed lawsuit) 
 
Defendant/Debtor  ______________________________________________________ 
                                                 (Name: First, Middle, Last of the other person)  

http://www.tncourts.gov/�
http://www.justiceforalltn.com/�
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IMPORTANT! 
 

Take any proof that supports your case to the hearing, including: witnesses, photos, papers, 
receipts, etc.  The court will not accept written statements from witnesses.  The person must 

go to court in person.  If you think a witness may not want to go to court, ask the clerk for 
subpoena forms.  Complete the subpoena as soon as possible so the sheriff can serve them 

before court.
 

The court and clerks are not allowed to give you legal advice, even if you don’t have a 
lawyer. This form is a public record.  It is not legal advice.  The law may change and it is 

best to consult with a lawyer. 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Certificate of Service 
(How I gave this paper to the Plaintiff/Creditor  

 
I certify that I (check one box) 
 ☐  hand delivered or 

☐  mailed by first-class mail, properly addressed, a true and correct copy of this paper to 
the person listed below at the address below:  

 
                              
          
Name of Who You Are Giving This To (The creditor’s lawyer or the plaintiff/creditor if no lawyer) 

 
          
Address of the Lawyer or the Creditor (Include City, State and Zip Code) 

 
on ___________________________________. 
       (Date you mailed/hand-delivered the copy)        
         

______________________________________
 Sign Your Name   

 

Bring the original and 2 copies of this form to the Court Clerk to be date stamped.   
Give the original to the Court Clerk.   

Bring a stamped envelope addressed for each plaintiff to the Court Clerk.  Mail one copy to 
the lawyer or if there is no lawyer, mail it to the plaintiff or company that sued you.  Keep one 

copy for yourself. 
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