IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

FILED

September 3, 1998

Cecil W. Crowson
Appellate Court Clerk

ORDER ESTABLISHING THE SUPREME COURT COMMITTEE TO IMPLEMENT THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE RACIAL AND ETHNIC FAIRNESS COMMISSION AND THE GENDER FAIRNESS COMMISSION ("THE COMMITTEE")

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Supreme Court recognizes that gender, racial, and ethnic biases are inimical to the effective administration of justice; and

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Judicial System must be operated so as to ensure equality of treatment of all persons in Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Supreme Court, having received the reports of the Commission on Gender Fairness and the Commission on Racial and Ethnic Fairness (hereinafter collectively "the Commissions"), wishes to implement such of the recommendations of the Commissions as may be within its purview.

NOW, THEREFORE, it is ORDERED that the Tennessee Supreme Court
Committee to Implement the Recommendations of the Racial and Ethnic
Fairness Commission and the Gender Fairness Commission (hereinafter "the
Committee") be established.

Under the direction and supervision of the Supreme Court, the Committee shall be charged with planning, overseeing and monitoring the implementation of the recommendations of the Commissions.

Without limiting this general charge, the Court specifically requests that the Committee review the reports of the Commissions and develop a plan for implementing each recommendation. The plan should specify the body responsible for such implementation and offer guidance to the Court, the Tennessee General Assembly, bar associations, law firms, law schools, government agencies and instrumentalities with regard to effective means of

implementing the Commissions' recommendations, as appropriate. Further, the Committee shall establish means for monitoring the progress made by the various implementing bodies and shall report to this Court by April 1, 1999, of its progress.

The following persons shall serve as members of the Committee for its initial term:

Professor Judy Cornett College of Law University of Tennessee 1404 West Cumberland Avenue Knoxville, TN 37996-1810

The Hon. Arthur Bennett Criminal Court of Shelby County 201 Poplar Avenue Memphis, TN 38103

The Hon. Mary Beth Leibowitz Criminal Court, 6th Judicial District City County Building 400 Main Avenue, M-60 Knoxville, TN 37902

Randall D. Noel 700 Brinkley Plaza 80 Monroe Avenue Memphis, TN 38103

Marcia E. Eason 1000 Volunteer Building 832 Georgia Avenue Chattanooga, TN 37402-2289

Theresa Patterson 46 North Third, Suite 725 Memphis, TN 38103

Monte D. Watkins 404 James Robertson Parkway #2121 Nashville, TN 37219-1505

Mark Brown 100 West Summit Hill Drive Knoxville, TN 37902-1025

The Hon. John J. Maddux, Jr. Circuit Court, 13th Judicial District 228 East Broad Street, Room 206 Cookeville, TN 38501-3366

The Hon. D. Kelly Thomas, Jr. Circuit Court, 5th Judicial District

Blount County Courthouse 393 Court Street Maryville, TN 37804-5906

Judy Medearis Circuit and General Sessions Courts Hamilton County Courthouse Chattanooga, TN 37402

Patrick H. McCutchen, Executive Director Tennessee District Attorney Generals' Conference 226 Capitol Boulevard, Suite 800 Nashville, TN 37243-0890

C. Phillip Bivens
District Attorney General
115 East Market Street
P.O. Drawer E
Dyersburg, TN 38025-2005

Ardena J. Garth District Public Defender 701 Cherry, Suite 300 Chattanooga, TN 37402-1910

William Andy Hardin District Public Defenders Conference 1623 Parkway Towers 404 James Robertson Parkway Nashville, TN 37243-1350

The Hon. Thomas L. Moore, Jr. Weakley County Courthouse P.O. Box 546 Dresden, TN 38225-0546

The Hon. Nolan Goolsby 1C07 Putnam County Justice Center 421 East Spring Street Cookeville, TN 38501 The Hon. Walter Williams
City Court of Chattanooga
Courts Building
600 Market Street
Chattanooga, TN 37402-4233

J. Diane Bradley Cecil L. Humphreys School of Law University of Memphis 3715 Central Avenue Memphis, TN 38152-0010

D. Don Welch School of Law Vanderbilt University Nashville, TN 37240-0016

Luther E. Cantrell, Jr. Nashville School of Law 2934 Sidco Drive Nashville, TN 37204-3712

Dwight Aarons College of Law The University of Tennessee 1505 West Cumberland Avenue Knoxville, TN 37996-1810

The Hon. Kim McMillan House of Representatives 32 Legislative Plaza Nashville, TN 37243

The Hon. Carol Chumney House of Representatives 26 Legislative Plaza Nashville, TN 37243 The Hon. Joe Armstrong House of Representatives 25 Legislative Plaza Nashville, TN 37243

Neil Gray McBride Rural Legal Services of Tennessee 226 Broadway P.O. Box 5209 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-5209

L. Patricia Mock Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee 111 South Second Street Clarksville, TN 37040-3433

Linda Warren Seely West Tennessee Legal Services 210 West Main Street P.O. Box 2066 Jackson, TN 38302-2066

The Hon. Haywood C. Barry Juvenile and General Sessions Courts 105 East High Street P.O. Box F900 Lebanon, TN 37088-0900

Cynthia Morin 707 Summerly Drive Nashville, TN 37209

Darlene Bearden 618 Windsor Green Boulevard Goodlettsville, TN 37072

The officers of the Committee shall be its co-chairpersons and a secretary.

The Court shall appoint the co-chairpersons; the secretary shall be elected by the members of the Committee at its first meeting.

The Court is pleased to appoint Professor Judy Cornett and Monte D. Watkins, Esquire to serve as co-chairpersons of the Committee.

The terms of the officers and members of the Committee shall expire on September 1, 1999. The Court may extend, at its option, the terms of the officers and members if it feels that to do so would be in the best interest of justice.

The Committee shall convene at the call of its co-chairpersons, and shall adopt rules of operation consistent with the provisions of this Order.

Members of the Committee shall not be compensated for their services to the Commission; provided, however, they may be reimbursed for travel and other necessary expenses in accordance with regulations adopted by the Judicial Department.

The Administrative Office of the Court shall provide reasonable staff support to the Committee.

The Committee is encouraged to prepare and present interim reports to the Court as necessary and practicable to assist in the timely implementation of the recommendations of the Commissions and shall prepare an initial report to the Court not later than eighteen months from the date of this Order.

CHIEF JUSTICE E. RILEY ANDERSON
JUSTICE FRANK F. DROWOTA, III
JUSTICE ADOLPHO A. BIRCH, JR.
JUSTICE JANICE M. HOLDER
JUSTICE WILLIAM M. BARKER