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The Department of Safety, acting pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-17-1352(a)(1),

revoked Petitioner’s handgun carry permit based upon the Department’s independent

determination that Petitioner had been convicted of “a misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence” as defined by 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33). The revocation arises out of an incident in

which Petitioner was charged with two counts of aggravated assault, one count that pertained

to his ex-wife and one count that pertained to her male companion. Petitioner subsequently

pled guilty to one count of simple assault under Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-101.

When Petitioner received notice that his  handgun permit had been administratively revoked,

he filed an appeal in the general sessions court, which reversed the Department’s decision

and ordered reinstatement of Petitioner’s permit. The Department then appealed to the circuit

court, which also ordered reinstatement of the handgun permit. This appeal followed. A

“misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,” for purposes of 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9), requires

a use of force and a domestic relationship. In the underlying criminal case, Petitioner was

charged with assaulting two people, Petitioner’s ex-wife and her male friend. Petitioner pled

guilty to only one count of misdemeanor assault and the record does not establish whether

Petitioner  pled guilty to assaulting his ex-wife or her male companion. A “misdemeanor

crime of domestic violence” includes an offense “committed by” a person who had a

specified domestic relationship with the victim, whether or not the misdemeanor statute itself

designates the domestic relationship as an element of the crime and, pursuant to United States

v. Hayes, 555 U.S. 415 (2009), the victim’s domestic relationship with the defendant must

be established beyond a reasonable doubt for the offense to constitute a crime of domestic

violence under  18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9). The record in this case does not establish that the

victim of the count of simple assault to which Petitioner pled guilty was his ex-wife.

Therefore, the record does not support the Department’s determination that Petitioner was

convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence for purposes of 18 U.S.C. §

922(g)(9). Accordingly, we affirm.
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OPINION

On December 30, 2008, Alton Flatt (“Petitioner”) entered the home of his ex-wife,

Leighann Flatt, without invitation or permission, at which time he made threats while

brandishing a pistol. Ms. Flatt called 911; thereafter, an altercation ensued between Petitioner

and Eric Jones, Ms. Flatt’s male companion. When Deputy Sheriff John Harris arrived, he

observed the altercation between Petitioner and Mr. Jones. After stopping the altercation,

Deputy Harris arrested Petitioner and charged him with two counts of felony aggravated

assault.

Pursuant to a plea agreement on February 9, 2009, in the General Sessions Court of

Jackson County, one count of aggravated assault was nollied (dismissed) and the other

amended to simple assault and Petitioner entered into a voluntary plea of guilty to one count

of misdemeanor assault (simple assault) in violation of Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-

101, for which Petitioner was sentenced to 11 months and 29 days of supervised probation

and fined ten dollars. The judgment did not identify which count of aggravated assault was

dismissed or the victim of the count of simple assault to which Petitioner pled guilty.

On August 20, 2010, following a determination by the Department of Safety that

Petitioner’s conviction of simple assault constituted a misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence as defined by 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33), the Department administratively revoked

Petitioner’s handgun carry permit. Thereafter, Petitioner filed an appeal in the General

Sessions Court of Jackson County contesting the Department’s revocation of his handgun

carry permit. Following a hearing on September 30, 2010, the general sessions court reversed

the Department’s revocation and ordered reinstatement of the permit. 

The appellee, Alton Flatt, did not file a brief and the case was submitted on Appellant’s brief1

pursuant to an order entered on December 6, 2012.
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The Department timely appealed the judgment of the general sessions court asserting

that Petitioner was convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence pursuant to 18

U.S.C. § 922; therefore, the Department was required to revoke Petitioner’s handgun carry

permit, citing Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-14-1352. 

Following a hearing on March 19, 2012, the circuit court ordered reinstatement of

Petitioner’s handgun carry permit based upon findings that the Department did not have a

basis to conclude the count to which Petitioner pled guilty constituted a misdemeanor crime

of domestic violence, that Petitioner’s plea that formed the basis of the handgun carry permit

revocation was not entered knowingly and voluntarily, and that the case of Ward v. State, 315

S.W.3d 461 (Tenn. 2010), a case on which the Department relied, was not applicable to

Petitioner. This appeal followed.  2

STANDARD OF REVIEW

The trial court’s review of the Department’s decision in this matter was governed by

Tennessee Code Annotated § 4-5-322(h), which sets forth the standard of review on appeal

of administrative proceedings as follows:

(h) The court may affirm the decision of the agency or remand the case for

further proceedings. The court may reverse or modify the decision if the rights

of the petitioner have been prejudiced because the administrative findings,

interferences, conclusions or decisions are:

(1)   In violation of constitutional or statutory provisions;

(2)   In excess of the statutory authority of the agency;

(3)   Made upon unlawful procedure;

(4) Arbitrary or capricious or characterized by abuse of

discretion or clearly unwarranted exercise of discretion; or

(5)  Unsupported by evidence which is both substantial and

material in light of the entire record.

In determining the substantiality of evidence, the trial court should not substitute its

judgment for that of the agency as to the weight of the evidence on questions of fact. Bobbit

v. Shell, 115 S.W.3d 506, 509-10 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2003).

Our standard of review is the same as in the trial court. Id. (citing DePriest v. Puett,

669 S.W.2d 669 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1984)). Thus, when reviewing a trial court’s review of an

The circuit court stayed the reinstatement of the Petitioner’s handgun carry permit pending appeal. 2
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administrative agency’s decision, this court is to determine, “whether or not the trial court

properly applied the . . . standard of review” found in Tennessee Code Annotated § 4-5-

322(h). Jones v. Bureau of TennCare, 94 S.W.3d 495, 501 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2002) (quoting

Papachristou v. Univ. of Tennessee, 29 S.W.3d 487, 490 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2000)).

ANALYSIS

The issue on appeal is whether the Department erred when it determined that

Petitioner’s guilty plea to the misdemeanor offense of simple assault under Tennessee Code

Annotated § 39-13-101(a) constituted a crime of domestic violence for purposes of 18 U.S.C.

§ 922(g)(9) of the federal Gun Control Act. 

The issuance of handgun carry permits in Tennessee is governed by Tennessee Code

Annotated § 39-17-1351. Pursuant to the statute, a Tennessee resident who is over the age

of twenty-one, a United States citizen or permanent resident alien, and who meets the other

eligibility requirements may obtain a handgun carry permit from the Department of Safety.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-17-1351(b). However, a person is not eligible if he is prohibited from

possessing a firearm pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-17-1316 or § 39-17-

1307(b), 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), or other federal or state law. Id. Further, Tennessee Code

Annotated § 39-17-1352(a)(1) requires the Department to suspend or revoke the handgun

carry permit of anyone who is prohibited from purchasing a handgun under state or federal

law.

For several decades, the federal Gun Control Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C. § 921 et seq., has

prohibited possession of a firearm by any person convicted of a felony. United States v.

Hayes, 555 U.S. 415, 418 (2009). In 1996, Congress extended the prohibition to include

persons convicted of “a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.” Id. (citing 18 U.S.C. §

922(g)(9)). 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9) prohibits anyone who has been convicted of “a

misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” from possessing or receiving firearms or

ammunition that has been shipped or transported in interstate or foreign commerce. A

“misdemeanor crime of domestic violence,” for purposes of § 922(g)(9), is defined as any

offense that is a misdemeanor under federal, state, or tribal law and that:

has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened

use of a deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or

guardian of the victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in

common, by a person who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with the
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victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a person similarly situated to a

spouse, parent or guardian of the victim. 

18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33)(A)(i)-(ii).

Petitioner pled guilty to one count of misdemeanor assault (simple assault) under

Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-101(a);  he did not plead guilty to the offense of3

domestic assault under Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-111. Nevertheless, the term

“crime of domestic violence” under the federal statutory scheme covers any misdemeanor

assault or battery when a victim was the offender’s spouse or former spouse, or other relation

specified in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33)(A), or the predicate misdemeanor must identify as an

element of the crime a domestic relationship between offender and victim. United States v.

Hayes, 555 U.S. 415 (2009).  As the Supreme Court explained in Hayes, “although [the4

domestic relationship] must be established beyond a reasonable doubt in a § 922(g)(9)

firearms possession prosecution, [it] need not be a defining element of the predicate offense.” 

Id. at 418. As the Court explained:

Section 921(a)(33)(A)’s definition of “misdemeanor crime of domestic

violence,” we acknowledge, is not a model of the careful drafter’s art. See

Barnes, 295 F.3d, at 1356. But neither is it “grievous[ly] ambigu[ous].”

Huddleston v. United States, 415 U.S. 814, 831 (1974). The text, context,

purpose, and what little there is of drafting history all point in the same

direction:  Congress defined “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” to

include an offense “committed by” a person who had a specified domestic

relationship with the victim, whether or not the misdemeanor statute itself

designates the domestic relationship as an element of the crime.

Id. at 429.

Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-101(a), a person commits misdemeanor assault3

(simple assault) who:

(1)  Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another;
(2)  Intentionally or knowingly causes another to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury;
or
(3)  Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another and a reasonable person
would regard the contact as extremely offensive or provocative.

The defendant in Hayes was convicted in the United States District Court of West Virginia of4

possessing a firearm after having been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence and he
appealed. United States v. Hayes, 555 U.S. 415 (2009). The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit reversed 
the district court and the Supreme Court reinstated the conviction. Id. at 419.
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As Hayes instructs, a crime of domestic violence involves the use or threatened use

of force and a domestic relationship. Id. at 423. Therefore, the commission of the crime of

simple assault under Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-101(a) may constitute a

misdemeanor offense of domestic violence if both the requisite use of force and a domestic

relationship are proven beyond a reasonable doubt: (1) that the offender used or attempted

to use physical force, or threatened to use a deadly weapon,  and (2) that the victim was the5

offender’s spouse or former spouse or other relation specified in 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33)(A).

18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33)(A)(i)-(ii). 

It has been established that one of the two alleged victims is the ex-wife of Petitioner

and that Petitioner used or attempted to use physical force, or threatened to use a deadly

weapon in the commission of the offense of simple assault. Therefore, Petitioner committed

the offense of domestic violence if his ex-wife is the victim of the one count of simple assault

to which Petitioner pled guilty.  

As the court in Castleman instructs, documents the Department may consider to

determine whether a crime qualifies as a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence include:

“the terms of the charging document, the terms of a plea agreement or transcript of colloquy

between judge and defendant in which the factual basis for the plea was confirmed by the

defendant, or to some comparable judicial record.” United States v. Castleman, 695 F.3d 582,

591 (6th Cir. 2012) (quoting Shepard v. United States, 544 U.S. 13, 26 (2005)). In making

its determination whether Petitioner’s guilty plea to one count of assault under Tennessee

Code Annotated § 39-13-101 qualified as a crime of domestic violence because the offense

to which he pled was against his ex-wife, the only two records available for the Department

to consider were the Affidavit of Complaint sworn to by Deputy Sheriff Harris and the

Judgment in the general sessions court. 

In the Affidavit of Complaint, Deputy Harris alleged that Petitioner had committed

two counts of felony aggravated assault under Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-102

In this case, the degree of force used or threatened by Petitioner is not at issue, however, it is5

important to note that some federal courts have construed 18 U.S.C. §§ 921(a)(33)(A) and 922(g)(9) to
require a degree of fear or force greater than “mere touching in the scientific sense” for a misdemeanor
domestic offense to qualify as a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence under the federal statutory scheme.
United States v. Castleman, 695 F.3d 582, 585 (6th Cir. 2012) (rejecting the government’s argument that §
922(g)(9)’s reference to misdemeanor domestic violence crimes triggers § 922(g)(9) liability for a defendant
convicted of any generic, common-law assault and battery offense that involves no more than slight physical
touching). The federal courts have also concluded that Tennessee Code Annotated § 39-13-111(b) does not
categorically qualify as a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence. Id. at 590 (stating “a defendant could
violate Tennessee Code § 39-13-111(b) both in a manner that constitutes a “misdemeanor crime of domestic
violence” and in a manner that does not”).
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against Petitioner’s ex-wife and her male friend, Eric Jones. The Judgment reveals that one

count of aggravated assault was dismissed, that one count was amended to simple assault,

and that Petitioner pled guilty to one count of simple assault. The Judgment does not reveal

whether the simple assault was based upon Petitioner’s actions towards his ex-wife or

towards her male friend. Thus, the record does not identify the victim of the count to which

Petitioner pled guilty. Notably, there is no transcript of the hearing before the general

sessions court, thus it would be speculation by the Department as to whether Petitioner’s ex-

wife or her male friend was the victim of the assault to which he pled. If he pled guilty to

assaulting Eric Jones, then the victim of the offense is not a former spouse of Petitioner and,

accordingly, the assault on Eric Jones does not constitute an offense of domestic violence.

As a result, the record does not establish beyond a reasonable doubt whether Petitioner was

convicted of a crime of domestic assault, meaning assault of his ex-wife.

As the Supreme Court stated in Hayes, “the domestic relationship . . . must be

established beyond a reasonable doubt in a § 922(g)(9)” case, even though it need not be a

defining element of the predicate offense. Id. at 418. The record before us does not establish

that Petitioner pled guilty to assaulting his ex-wife instead of assaulting Eric Jones.

Therefore, the record does not contain substantial and material evidence to support the

Department’s determination that Petitioner was convicted of a misdemeanor crime of

domestic violence. 

  

IN CONCLUSION 

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the decision of the circuit court and remand for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.  Costs on appeal are assessed against the

Department of Safety. 

______________________________

FRANK G. CLEMENT, JR., JUDGE
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