
The requirements to become a Rule 31 listed family mediator are found in Rule 31, §17(b) as follows: 

Section 17. Rule 31 Mediators 

No person shall act as a Rule 31 Mediator without first being listed by the ADRC. To be listed, Rule 

31 Mediators must pay application fees set by the ADRC and must comply with the qualification and 

training requirements set forth in this section. All training must have been approved by the ADRC as 

set for in section (f) below and must have been completed within the fifteen years immediately 

preceding the application seeking Rule 31 Mediator listing. [Amended April 24, 2009] 

 (b) Rule 31 Mediators in Family Cases. 

 

(1) To be listed as a Rule 31 Mediator in family cases, one must: 

(A) comply with the requirements set forth in Section 17(a)(1)(A) and 17(a)(2)(A) and 

17(a)(2)(B) above; and 

 

(B) be a Certified Public Accountant, have a graduate degree, or have a baccalaureate degree 

with ten years full time practical work experience in psychiatry, psychology, counseling, family 

mediation, social work, education, law, or accounting. Full time practical work experience shall 

be defined as 35 hours or more of work per week; 

 

(C) have four years of full time practical work experience in psychiatry, psychology, counseling, 

social work, education, law, or accounting. Full time practical work experience shall be defined 

as 35 hours or more of work per week; 

 

(D) complete 40 hours of training in family mediation which includes the curriculum components 

specified by the ADRC for Rule 31 Mediators in family cases and which also includes four hours 

of training in screening for and dealing with domestic violence in the mediation context; and 

 

(E) complete six additional hours of training in Tennessee family law and court procedure. It is 

provided, however, that the ADRC may waive this requirement for applicants who have 

completed at least six hours of ADRC-approved training devoted to Tennessee family law 

and/or procedure within the three-year period immediately prior to the completion of the 

requirements of Section 17(c)(3)(A) through (I). 

To read about training waiver requirements, go to Rule 31, §17(d) at: http://www.tncourts.gov/rules/supreme-court/31. 
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