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OPINION

Thisisan attempt to collect child support arrearages. A court order dated August 10, 1993,
required the father, appellee Richard French (“Father”), to pay $105 per week for the support of his
daughter, Amanda, born on April 22, 1981. Of thistotal amount, $60 was for current support, $40
was for support arrearages that existed at that time, and $5 for applicable fees. Father did not
comply with the 1993 order. Amanda turned eighteen years old on April 22, 1999.

On December 2, 1999, the petitioner State of Tennessee Department of Human Services
(“State”), on behalf of Amanda s mother, Jacqueline Patterson (“Mother”), filed a Petition to
Terminate Current Child Support and Petition for Contempt. Attached to the Petition asExhibit A
was documentation supporting the State's contention that Father had not made his child support
payments as ordered and, therefore, owed arrearages of $14,078.59 as of the date of Amanda’'s
emancipation.*

On June 23, 2000, with both Mother and Father present, thetrial court held ahearing onthe
State’ s petition.? Thetrial court found that Father owed child support arrearages of $15,458.59 as
of the date of the hearing, and granted Mother ajudgment in that amount. The trial court declined
to find Father in contempt for failing or refusing to pay child support as ordered because “the minor
child was emancipated.” The State sought to have the arrearage payment set at $105 per week, the
total amount of support Father had previously been required to pay. However, thetrid court ordered
Father to “ continueto pay $40.00 per week” until thejudgmentispaidinfull. The State argued that
Father’ sarrearage paymentswererequired to be paid through the State di sbursement unit established
under 42 U.S.C. 8§ 654b and Tennessee Code Annotated 8 36-5-116. Thetria court declined, instead
ordering the paymentsto be made through the Clerk of the Court. On July 5, 2000, the court entered
an order in accordance with his June 23, 2000 decision.

On July 20, 2000, the State filed a motion to alter or amend the judgment pursuant to Rule
59.04 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure. On August 11, 2000, thetrial court held ahearing
on the motion, and it was denied on September 22, 2000. The State now appealsthe orders entered
on July 5 and September 22, 2000.3

On appeal, the State arguesthat, under Tennessee statutes, thetrial court was required to set
Father's arrearage payments at $105 per week, rather than the $40 per week ordered by the tria

! For purposes of this appeal, we will assume that Amanda’s date of emancipation was the day she turned
eighteen (18) yearsold, April 22, 1999.

The record reflectsthat thetrial court initially entered an order dismissing the State’s petition based on lack
of service of process. Apparently, however, French was eventually served with process, and the court ultimately
considered the State’s petition. This appeal does not involve any claimed error regarding those procedural issues.

3 Father did not file a brief in this appeal, nor did he show cause as to why he did not file such a brief. Father

also failed to appear for oral argument. Therefore, this matter has been decided on the record and on the State’'s
arguments made in its brief and at the oral presentation.
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court. The Statealso arguesthat thetrial court erred in declining to consider the contempt petition
against Father based on the fact that the child had reached majority. Finally, the State contendsthat,
under applicable federa and State statutes, the trial court was required to order that the arrearage
payments be made through the State disbursement unit, rather than through the clerk of the court.

We review the Trial Court's findings of fact de novo upon the record of the proceedings
below, with a presumption of correctness “unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise.”
Tenn.R. App. P. 13(d); Hassv. Knighton, 676 S.W.2d 554, 554 (Tenn. 1984). Wereview questions
of law de novo, with no presumption of correctness. Jahn v. Jahn, 932 S\W.2d 939, 941 (Tenn. Ct.
App. 1996).

First, the State argues that the trial court erred by setting the arrearage payments at $40 per
week and by failing to consider the merits of the contempt petition. These issues are governed by
Tennessee Code Annotated § 36-5-101(k), which provides:

Absent a court order to the contrary, if an arrearage for child support or fees due as
court costsexist at thetime an order for child support would otherwise terminate, the
order of support or any then existing income withholding arrangement and all
amountsordered for payment of current support or arrears, including any arrearsdue
for court costs, shall continue in effect in an amount equal to the then existing
support order or income withholding arrangement until the arrearage and costs due
are satisfied and the court may enforce al ordersfor such arrearages by contempt.

Tenn. Code Ann. 8 36-5-101(k). Thus, under this statute, an existing court order awarding child
support survives the emancipation of the minor child “if an arrearage for child support . . . exist[]
at the time” of the emancipation. 1d. In this case, at the time the August 10, 1993 order would
otherwiseterminate, i.e. when Amandareached majority, an arrearage existed. Therefore, under the
statute, the 1993 order must continue in effect.

The statute further provides that the existing order “shall continue in effect in an amount
equal to the then existing support order . . . until the arrearage and costs due are satisfied.” 1d.
(emphasisadded). The 1993 order intheinstant case providesthat Father was obligated to pay $105
per week: $60 for current support, $40 for arrearages, and $5infees. Thetrial court below ordered
Father to pay only $40 per week plus $2 in fees, apparently to enforce only the “arrearage”
component of the existing order. Such areduction in the support obligation isdirectly at odds with
section 36-5-101(k), which requiresthe effect of the existing order to continue “in an amount equal
to the then existing support order.” Moreover, the statute specifiesthat it applies to “dl amounts
ordered for payment of current support or arrears.” 1d. (emphasisadded). Inlight of thislanguage,
wemust reversethetrial court’sorder limiting the continued paymentsto $40 per week and remand
for the implementation of an order in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated 8§ 36-5-101(Kk).

The same statute is pertinent to the trial court’s conclusion that a finding of contempt was

inappropriatein this case based on the fact that “the minor child was emancipated.” Section 36-5-
101(k) states specifically that “the court may enforce all orders for such arrearages by contempt”
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even after the support order would otherwise terminate, i.e. after the child is emancipated. Tenn.
Code Ann. 8§ 36-5-101(k). The Tennessee Supreme Court recognized this provigon in the statute
in Kuykendall v. Wheeler, 890 SW.2d 785 (Tenn. 1994). In Kuykendall, the State filed a petition
on behalf of the mother to enforce a child support arrearage judgment against the father. In
addressing the effect of section 36-5-101(k), the Court noted that the statute was procedurd in
nature, afact which usudly indicaesthat astatute should be applied retroactively. The Court found,
however, that because the statute “ alows for enforcement by contempt,” it “has a decidedly penal
component” and, thus, should not be applied retroactively. Kuykendall, 890 S.W.2d at 787-88.

Inthiscase, thetrial court below refrained from considering the merits of the State’ s request
for afinding of contempt based only on thefact that “the minor child was emancipated.” Under the
statute, thisisnot an appropriate reason for refusing to consider the contempt petition. Therefore,
we remand the issue to the trial court to reconsider whether a finding of contempt would be
appropriate in this case.*

Finally, the State arguesthat the trial court erred in ordering Father’ s arrearage paymentsto
be made to the Clerk of the Court rather than to the State’ s collection and disbursement unit. The
trial court initially ordered that the continuation of support payments be “made to the Clerk of the
Court.” Upon rehearing thisissue, the court adhered to its original decision, stating specifically that
“itisin the best interest of the child that support payments be made to the Clerk of the Court.”

Under applicablefederal statutes, thiscasewouldbeconsidereda” TitlelV-D case,” referring
to cases brought pursuant to Title IV, chapter D of the Social Security Act, codified at 42 U.S.C. 8§
654. A TitlelV-D caseisessentially any cause of action in which the Stateis providing serviceson
behalf of a parent relating to paternity or child support establishment or enforcement, either by
request or pursuant to the custodial parent’sreceipt of public assistance benefits under Title IV-A.
See 42 U.S.C. § 654(4); Tenn. Code Ann. 8 71-3-124(c). Because the State brings this action on
behalf of Mother to enforce Father’s child support obligations, this is deemed to be a Title IV-D
case.

Title42 U.S.C. 8§ 654b directsstatesto “ establish and operate aunit [the * State disbursement
unit’] for the collection and disbursement of” payments made as ordered in such cases. Pursuant to
thismandate, Tennessee promulgated section 36-5-116, effective October 1, 1999, which provides:

[ T]he department of human services shall become the central collection and
disbursement unit for the state asrequired by 42 U.S.C. § 654b. All order[s] in Title
IV-D support cases . . . shall be deemed to require that the support be sent to the
central collection and disbursement unit, any order of the court notwithstanding.

4 . - . .
The State concedes that the record below is not sufficiently developed for this Court to addressthe merits of
its contempt argument.

-4-



Tenn. Code Ann. § 36-5-116(a)(1). The language of the statute is mandatory, directing that all
orders in Title IV-D cases “shall be deemed to require that the support be sent” to the State
disbursement unit.

The directive that all payments madein Title IV-D cases be sent to the State disbursement
unit does not give the trial court the discretion to order otherwise. Therefore, we must reverse the
trial court’ sorder in thisrespect and direct that Father’ s continued support payments be madeto the
State disbursement unit established according to federal and state statute.

In sum, wereversethedecision of thetrial court and remandwithinstructionsto set Father’s
child support arrearage paymentsin accordance with section 36-5-101(k) and to consider themerits
of the State’s petition for contempt. Furthermore, the trial court should direct that any arrearage
payments be sent to the State disbursement unit rather than to the Clerk of the Court.

The decision of thetrial court is reversed and remanded for further proceedings consistent
with this Opinion. Costs on appeal are assessed against Appellee, Richard French, for which
execution may issue if necessary.

HOLLY K. LILLARD, JUDGE



